Skip to Content

Meet our Board of Directors and Executive Leadership Team

A highly experienced team leads the growth and development of Christchurch International Airport Limited (CIAL). 

Our company is 75% owned by Christchurch City Council (through its subsidiary Christchurch City Holdings Limited) and 25% owned by the government. We are governed by a Board of Directors and run by a Chief Executive who oversees the Executive Leadership Team, the Senior Leadership Team, and our champion team of people in a diverse range of roles.

Board of Directors

  • Sarah Ottrey (Chair)

    Appointed March 2019, Chair from October 2023

    Sarah has held senior marketing roles in New Zealand and off-shore with Unilever and DB Breweries/Heineken. Sarah is a Chartered Fellow of the NZ Institute of Directors, and a committee member of the Otago Southland Institute of Directors. She is currently chair of Whitestone Cheese, and a director of Skyline Enterprises, Mt Cook Alpine Salmon and Sarah Ottrey Marketing Ltd. Sarah was formerly a director of listed companies EBOS Group, Comvita, and Blue Sky Meats, Crown Enterprise The Public Trust, and an external member of the Inland Revenue Risk and Assurance Committee.

    Sarah is an ex officio member of all our board committees.

  • Andrew Barlass

    Appointed September 2021

    Andrew Barlass has a background in both corporate finance and infrastructure funds management, most recently as Head of Asset Management for Deutsche Asset Management Australia. His local and international experience spans a range of industries including regulated utilities, infrastructure, airports, ports, forestry and agribusiness sectors.

    Andrew is based in Mid Canterbury, is currently a Director of EA Networks and Ashburton Contracting Limited, and custodian of an intergenerational family farming business. Past governance experience includes roles at Asia Pacific Airports Corporation, Port of Geelong, and Allgas Energy. 

    Andrew chairs the Risk, Audit and Finance Committee, and is a member of the Property and Commercial, and Aeronautical Committee.

  • Paul Reid

    Appointed May 2018

    Paul joined the Board in May 2018 and brings extensive commercial experience gained across a diverse range of businesses. Paul is currently Chair of Figured, Virsae Group, and ASX-listed Volpara Health Technology. Past directorships include NZX listed Comvita and Pukeko Pictures GP.

    He has held a number of key executive roles in the transformation of businesses including Air New Zealand, MetService and Carter Holt Harvey. Paul is based in Wellington, New Zealand.

    Paul chairs the Property and Commercial Committee, and is a member of the People, Culture and Safety Committee, and Aeronautical Committee.

  • Chris Paulsen

    Appointed October 2010

    Chris Paulsen is the Founder Director of the House of Travel Group. Having worked in travel since he left school, Chris has a lifelong passion for the travel and tourism industries. In 2006 he was a category winner for the Ernst and Young Entrepreneur of the Year award.

    Chris chairs the Aeronautical Committee and is a member of the People, Culture and Safety Committee.

  • Kate Morrison

    Appointed October 2017

    Prior to moving to New Zealand in 2014, Kate spent 20 years working in investment banking in the UK, with firms including Merrill Lynch, Goldman Sachs and, most recently, Deutsche Bank, where she held a variety of senior client coverage and management roles. Based in Christchurch, she is now Chair of The New Zealand Merino Company and Link Engine Management, as well as a director of Heartland Group and a2 Milk.

    Kate chairs the People, Culture and Safety Committee and is a member of the Risk, Audit and Finance committee and Property and Commercial Committee.

  • Ed Sims

    Appointed October 2023

    Ed Sims has 38 years of experience in transportation, logistics and aviation across three continents and four countries.

    Since arriving in New Zealand in 2001, Ed has held executive level roles at Air New Zealand and served for six years as Chief Executive of State Owned Enterprise, Airways New Zealand. Subsequently Ed led Canada’s leading low fares airline WestJet over five years from 2017.

    Ed’s governance and board advisory portfolio includes aviation, transportation and Iwi interests in Australia and New Zealand.

    Ed is a member of the Risk, Audit and Finance Committee, and Aeronautical Committee.

Executive Leadership Team

Justin Watson

Chief Executive

Tim May

Chief Financial Officer

Lucy Taylor

General Manager Airfield Operations and Corporate Affairs

Michael Singleton

Chief Strategy and Stakeholder Officer

John O'Dea

General Manager Property

Nick Flack

General Manager Future Planning and Sustainability

Rhys Boswell

Project Director – Central Otago

Kylie Frisby

General Manager People and Culture

Gordon Bevan

General Manager Aeronautical Development

David Cooper

General Manager Customer and Commercial